September 12, 2024

Where have you been?

I can't believe I haven't written a blog post in over a year, but a lot has happened since I've last posted anything. For starters, my current hosting situation isn't gonna last much longer, and I don't want to go through the headache of spinning up my own server and migrating things over, especially with how the site was cobbled together in the first place. So, I've decided to try things out here, found a template, tweaked it, and now I'm just manually setting everything up. Maybe someday I'll figure out how to make it less of a pain and separate some elements in a way that will let me, say, change the navbar and have it apply to the whole website and not just one specific page. Right now I'm trying out having a blog post be just a blog post and have all the other stuff on the main page. Once I get more time I should have archive lists and junk like that so I can keep the main page just the most recent few posts. This isn't being generated by any static site generator by the way, so expect things to be full of inconsistencies for a while. My next priority is setting up my social links on their own page and keeping that up to date.

As for non-web stuff, Christmas has officially started to roll out at a certain blue retail chain that I happen to work at, so I will be coming home in the morning covered in glitter for the next four months at least. Why did they start setting Christmas on the first week of September? Why do they have Christmas, Halloween, Harvest, and Back to School out at the same time? I don't know! Nobody knows! The store manager didn't want this, Market probably didn't want this, it seems to be coming from the very top. Judging by how last season "Black Friday" lasted a whopping three weeks, Christmas will eventually take over summer beach season by 2026, and start just after Easter by 2030.

I've got a lot of other things I want to do, it's just a tad overwhelming compared to the amount of time I can actually dedicate to things. I really hope I can make this work...

In any case, I bid you farewell, whoever is reading this. If anyone's reading this. I don't know how the RSS feeds work here just yet, and given the only way I can accurately preview the page is to edit it online and refresh the live version of it, I really don't want to be spamming everyone's feeds with every single typo change. But, I digress.

Stay Squeaky!